New Year Blogging 2016

New Year’s Resolutions for Bloggers: New Year, New Tips

Creating a blog was one of the biggest things I’ve done in the year 2015, but it’s also been one of my biggest challenges. When I started Millennial Marketer this summer, it was something new. Something exciting. Grad school turned out to be busier and more demanding than I thought. Blogging is something I still do to write about what I love and find an escape, so I’ve made these resolutions for blogging in 2016. Read more to make these your own blogging habits.

WRITING CONSISTENTLY. CONSISTENTLY.

Writing frequently is key to having a successful blog. With a busy schedule and trying to balance several jobs, it’s important for me to set time aside each week to either write new content or research what I want to blog about next. For my blog, I have to stay on top of current trends in marketing and advertising in order to publish valuable and relevant content.

I’ve set Mashable.com as my homepage, so I’m always reading through what’s current in social media, tech, and business. This ensures that I’m staying in tune with what’s happening in the marketing space and helps me decide what to write about next.

Mashable Logo

One resolution for 2016 is to blog on a more frequent and consistent basis, at least 2-3 times a month. This will not only allow me to push out more content and ideas, but provide me with opportunities to learn new things and improve my blogging capabilities.

organizing and scheduling your bloG Posts

For 2016, my resolution is to create a content calendar to schedule out posts and brainstorm new ideas. I’ve used Excel documents to set up social media posts before moving them to Hootsuite, but I want to try something more digital and calendar-based. My iPhone calendar has become an essential part of keeping myself organized in grad school, so I’ve been googling ways to schedule my posts online.

Blogger friend Meredith Davis recently posted about using Google calendar as a blogging planner. I use this tool constantly for meetings at work, but I never thought of it as a way to brainstorm blog details and figure out the best times to schedule posts. Meredith notes, “having posts created as events allows me to easily check out how my week looks in posts, and it also looks great on the google calendar mobile app.”

Blog Post Google Calendar

Meredith schedules a blog post by creating an event on Google Calendar

brushing up on your writing skills

This semester, I’ve had the opportunity to take a digital and social media course as part of my masters program. One book we explored throughout the semester was “Nicely Said: Writing for the Web with Style and Purpose” by Kate Kiefer Lee and Nicole Fenton. This down-to-earth guide to writing clear and friendly content is great for businesses and bloggers alike.

Nicely Said Book

Add Nicely Said to your reading list for 2016

Your blog should be like creating a virtual conversation with your readers. It’s important to keep your audience engaged and interested. Nicely Said puts it pretty simply – “Language is powerful. Your words can make people feel happy, sad, frustrated, proud and everything in between. So whether or not “writer” is in your title, your writing is important.”

As I begin this new year, I want to dive deeper into this book and other resources that will help me a better writer and use a language that is more engaging, easier to understand, and keeps readers coming back for more. There’s always room to improve, and I want to boost these writing skills as I begin my career.

DON’T GIVE UP. DON’T EVER GIVE UP.

2016 is a new year for a lot of things – but I’m excited that one of those is creating a powerful and more dynamic blog. Something that I’m proud of and excited to share with my fellow marketers. With these resolutions, I know I can succeed. Figure out your own plan – where there are holes to be filled – and you’ll be on your way to a successful year of blogging and sharing.

2016

Leave a Reply

